2012 EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards

Congratulations to these amazing faculty members!

The EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented annually to a faculty member in the areas of computer science, electrical engineering, and systems engineering. Each faculty member is recognized for their accomplishments in teaching, research, and service, as well as special contributions as noted.

The recipients of the 2012 EECS Outstanding Achievement Award are:

satinder singh Enlarge

Satinder Singh Baveja
Director, Artificial Intelligence Lab

For innovative research in reinforcement learning, developing new undergraduate courses in machine learning and computational art, and for leading the CSE search committee and the Artificial Intelligence Laboratory.

ian hiskens Enlarge

Ian Hiskens
Vennema Professor of Engineering

For leadership in re-establishing research and education in the areas of electric power systems, electric machines, and power electronics in the EECS Department; for developing new courses in power and energy systems; and for innovative research on the stability and control of electrical power systems.

Image Enlarge

Dennis Sylvester
Director, Michigan Integrated Circuits Laboratory

For innovative research in millimeter-scale, energy-efficient integrated circuits; for leadership in the establishment of the Michigan Integrated Circuits Laboratory (MICL); and for sustained excellence in teaching and curriculum development in integrated circuits and VLSI.