David Blaauw and Dennis Sylvester named Top Authors by ISSCC

Both research papers discuss ultra low-power chip design and millimeter-scale computing.

Blaauw and Sylvester Enlarge
Professor David Blaauw and Professor Dennis Sylvester
ISSCC logo Enlarge

Prof. David Blaauw and Prof. Dennis Sylvester have been named two of the top contributing authors to the International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC), which is the flagship conference of the Solid-State Circuits Society.

This honor comes as part of ISSCC’s 60th anniversay celebration. The ISSCC selected an elite group of 16 authors who either presented more than 30 papers at ISSCC during the course of the past 60 years, or who are among the top 10 contributors over the past 10 years.

It is at this conference that Profs. Blaauw and Sylvester presented many of their groundbreaking research papers in the areas of ultra low-power chip design and millimeter-scale computing. In addition to their conference papers, they have served as panelists in special sessions, presented invited talks, and their students have been winners in the 2009 and 2011 DAC/ISSCC Student Design Contest. Prof. Sylvester received the Beatrice Winner award for editorial excellence at ISSCC 2000.

Dennis and David are co-authors on several of the ISSCC papers. They also co-founded the company Ambiq Micro along with former student Dr. Scott Hanson in 2009. The company specializes in energy-efficient integrated circuits.

The announcement was made public at this year’s ISSCC Plenary Session, Monday, February 18, 2013.

March 12, 2019 : IEEE Spectrum

3 New Chips to Help Robots Find Their Way Around

IEEE Spectrum highlights a new chip designed by Professors Dennis Sylvester, David Blaauw, and Hun-Seok Kim, along with PhD student Ziyun Li, that helps robots better navigate the world